Daily Devotion on Malachi 4:1-3

Text:  Malachi 4:1-3

It doesn’t sound very exciting! In fact, it sounds down right scary!

How are we supposed to look forward to Judgment Day when God says it’s going to be burning like a furnace and everything will be destroyed and the wicked will be trampled under foot and reduced to dust?! That’s terrifying!

That’s especially terrifying because I know that I have been wicked. The things I have done in my life are too many to count and too embarrassing to share. My guilty conscience makes me fully aware of all the wrongs I have done in my life. I’m sure the same is true for you. When we read the words of the Lord in Malachi then, it can be frightening!

Thanks be to God that he doesn’t stop his prophecy there!

The Lord continues to foretell through Malachi that those who revere, or believe in, his name will be safe on the Last Day. They will bask in the glow of the sun of righteousness. That S-U-N is none other than the S-O-N of God, Jesus Christ. He brings healing and pardon and forgiveness to sinners. He makes us right with God so that we can stand before him on the Last Day with the miraculous pronouncement of “Not Guilty.”

Judgment Day will be a joy then. Judgment Day will be exciting. Judgment Day will be wonderful. That is the final day of victory for our Savior Jesus! It is the final day of victory for us!

Prayer: Lord Jesus, you have conquered all your enemies by your death and resurrection. Now, come quickly Lord to claim your final victory for all eternity. Fill me with patience to wait for your return. Fill me with joy as I eagerly await that glorious day. I pray in your name. Amen.

About Pastor Phil Huebner

Pastor. Missionary. Principal. Husband. Father. Serving in love as each. http://www.ctkpalmcoast.com

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

