Daily Devotion on Numbers 11:16,24-29

Text: Numbers 11:16, 24-29

“That’s no fair!”

If I had a dollar for every time I hear that every day of the week from my children, I would be writing this devotion from my vacation home in Tahiti right now.

“That’s no fair! How come I don’t get to stay up late?”

“That’s no fair! How come I don’t get three chicken nuggets?”

“That’s no fair! How come I don’t get to sit next to Daddy for supper?”

Half the time the requests and complaints are senseless and pointless. Yet the argument for “fairness” is made nevertheless. Children naturally are wired for jealousy because children naturally are sinful, too.

Unfortunately, our jealousy only gets worse as we get older. How many times have you watched a TV show that tours celebrity homes and thought, “That is no fair! How come I can’t have a life like that?” Maybe it’s just as simple as being jealous over what your neighbor has, “Why can’t I get a nice lawnmower, too?” or being jealous of your coworker, “Why should she get a raise instead of me?”

Moses would have had every right to be jealous when some of the Israelites also started prophesying. He was God’s chosen leader! General Joshua thought it would be best if they stopped, for the sake of Moses. Yet Moses rejoiced in the gifts and abilities of his fellow Israelites and encouraged their activity. Rather than a heart of jealousy, Moses had a heart of love and thanks.

When you happen to glance at the lifestyles of the rich and famous, or even the lifestyles of your semi-rich neighbors, be thankful for what God has given them. Be thankful for all the other gifts and abilities that God gives to other people.

But then, with a loving and content heart, be thankful for what God has given you, too!

Prayer: Heavenly Father, you pour out so many blessings upon me–more than I could ever count! Help me to recognize all that you give and to rejoice in the many things I have. Give me contentment to be pleased with whatever you bless me with. Give me thanks for all the blessings you give to others. In your name I pray, Amen.

About Pastor Phil Huebner

Pastor. Missionary. Principal. Husband. Father. Serving in love as each. http://www.ctkpalmcoast.com

Posted on October 1, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You must have had a camera in our home yesterday … uh, I said the “That’s not fair! How come you get to …” words to hubby last night 🙂 Ooops! 🙂 Thanks for reminding me of the truth!

Leave a Reply

