Daily Devotion on John 10:11-18

Text: John 10:11-18

He didn’t have to die… you know that don’t you? When the crowd mercilessly shouted, “He saved others but he can’t save himself,” well, they didn’t know what they were talking about. Well before he was dragged before rulers and courts, well before he was brutally beaten, well before he was sentenced to death Jesus made one thing very clear, “No one takes [my life] from me, but I lay it down of my own accord.”

He didn’t have to die… so why did he? Jesus’ willful surrendering of his own life seems crazy to our selfish minds. I mean sure, I would die for my son or my wife but would I be so willing to take the electric chair for a man who killed my son or wife and showed no sign of repentance? Jesus wasn’t dying for a group of pretty good people who needed just a little bit of extra help to get to heaven. Jesus was going to willingly die for a world that hated him, a world that wants nothing to do with him.

He didn’t have to die… but he wanted to. He wanted to because he is the Good Shepherd. He willingly faced the wolves because he loves us. He willingly died because in his death he could secure for us pleasant pastures in heaven. It defies reason, but God has made clear that he was pleased to save the world through such an outwardly foolish and simple truth. Your Good Shepherd died for your sins. He didn’t have to but he did and that is the Gospel Truth; that is all you need to know. Heaven is your home because of your Good Shepherd Jesus.

Prayer: My shepherd will supply my need –Jehovah is his name.

In pastures fresh he makes me feed beside the living stream.

He brings my wand’ring spirit back when I forsake his ways,

And leads me, for his mercy’s sake, in paths of truth and grace.

When I walk through the shades of death, his presence is my stay.

One word of his supporting breath drives all my fears away.

His hand, in sight of all my foes, will still my tables spread.

My cup with blessings overflows; his oil anoints my head. Amen.

About vicarhoff

I am thrilled and honored to be serving as vicar/intern at Christ the King Lutheran Church and School for a whole year!

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

