Daily Devotion on 1 Corinthians 15:12-22

Devotion Text: 1 Corinthians 15:12-22

As Christ hung on the cross, enduring the physical and spiritual punishment for sin, he cried out in a loud voice: “It is finished.” Then, he died, was unceremoniously pulled down from the cross, and buried in a stranger’s tomb.

What if it wasn’t finished?

What if God had said, “Sorry mankind, that just wasn’t enough. My Son paid for some of your sins, but I’ll only be able to take those who are good enough.” What if we had no way of knowing which of our sins would be the tipping point. Day in, day out, we would struggle with sin, wanting not to sin, but sin is so infectious that we would fail–again and again. Eventually, it would become clear we wouldn’t be going to heaven. Out lives would be filled with despair.

For this very reason, Christ rose from the dead. With sin paid for, death could not hold God any longer. Jesus’ resurrection is the father’s stamp of approval on the plan of salvation.

It IS finished.

Because Christ is risen, you also with rise. Our sins have died with Christ and we will reign with him forever.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for paying the full price for my sins. Forgive my worrying when I wonder if truly all my sins have forgiven. Forgive my pride when I trust in myself more than you. Most of all Lord, keep me confident in you–in your plan for my salvation and in your plan for my life. Amen.

About Michael Schottey

Michael Schottey is a Christian, husband, father of two boys, sportswriter, and aspiring author. He graduated from Martin Luther College with a degree in Biblical Languages in 2009. A lifelong midwesterner, he moved to Florida with his family in 2010 and is a member of Christ the King Lutheran Church (WELS).

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

