Daily Devotion on Psalm 38

Text: Psalm 38

Isn’t the human psyche an amazing thing? When your conscience feels burdened, when you know you are guilty of something, it is nearly overwhelming!

Our consciences can be so overwhelmed by guilt that it affects everything about us. Our faces look sad. Our eyes lose any sparkle they had. Our shoulders slouch. Our stomachs ache. We can certainly understand how David would say in Psalm 38, My guilt has overwhelmed me like a burden too heavy to bear . . . I am feeble and utterly crushed; I groan in anguish of heart.

Read Psalm 38. Read all of it. Read it slowly. Read it carefully. Read it while thinking about the worst sins you have ever committed. Read it while thinking about the smallest sins you have ever committed. Go ahead. Open your Bible or click the link above and read it.

It hurts, doesn’t it? We empathize with David because we have the same overwhelming feelings of guilt! We too feel so guilty that, like David, it is as if we are about to fall.

But don’t stop short of the end! Join David in crying out with the last two verses:

O LORD, do not forsake me; be not far from me, O my God. Come quickly to help me, O Lord my Savior.

Join David in sorrowful repentance. Join David in turning to the Lord for healing and for help. Join David in confident trust that our Savior-God forgives. Because he has.

Ah yes . . . now that lifts the spirits! We have peace through Jesus.

Thanks be to God.

Prayer: I lay my sins on Jesus, the spotless Lamb of God; He bears them all and frees us from the accursed load. I bring my guilt to Jesus to wash my crimson stains White in his blood most precious till not a spot remains. Amen.

About Pastor Phil Huebner

Pastor. Missionary. Principal. Husband. Father. Serving in love as each. http://www.ctkpalmcoast.com

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

