Daily Devotion on Exodus 20:1-17

Text:  Exodus 20:1-17

No problem! I’ve done all that! The 10 Commandments? A breeze!

I’ve never killed anyone. I’m still married to my wife. I’ve never knocked off a bank. I go to church every single Sunday. I don’t worship Buddha or Allah. God must be so pleased!

How foolish I am! How foolish! I look in the mirror at God’s demands and on outward surface I feel safe and comfortable. But surely God sees more than my outward actions. God knows my thoughts. God hears my words. God knows the cravings of the heart. Those matter too.

That’s why the Bible says, “Whoever hates his brother is a murder” (1 John 3:15). That’s why Jesus says, “Anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her is his heart.” (Matthew 5:28) The list could go on and on. Breaking the 7th commandment isn’t just about stealing. It includes greed and envy, cheating and swindling. Breaking the first commandment is more than worshiping another physical God. It includes putting anything before the Lord in our hearts.

Suddenly that look in the mirror of God’s demands isn’t so pleasant. Every flaw is exposed. Every evil thought, every shameful word, every disgusting desire–all my sin becomes clear.

But that’s just the point. Part of the reason that God has so many clearly defined laws and commandments is to show me my sin, and then show me my need for a Savior.

Indeed! How I need a Savior! And thanks be to God that he gives me just that. All my sins, all my missteps, all my disobedience and defiance–it all has been washed away in the blood of my precious Savior.

Thanks be to God for saving me from this wretched and miserable state!

Prayer: Lord, I give you all thanks and praise as you have rescued me from my life of sin and death. Continue to wash my sins in the blood of your Son and grant me a new Spirit to live in thanks and joy for you. Amen.

About Pastor Phil Huebner

Pastor. Missionary. Principal. Husband. Father. Serving in love as each. http://www.ctkpalmcoast.com

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

