Daily Devotion on Psalm 73

Devotion Text: Psalm 73

How many times have you heard the sentiment, “Why do bad things happen to good people?” How many times have you said or thought the same thing yourself?

This idea, that God’s justice is unjust and random, permeates our culture which holds “me” first and demands answers of God. In this post-modern world, the idea that “I couldn’t believe in such a mean or unfair God” sounds tempting because we’re all taught that trying is good enough.

Psalm 73 begins with a stark contrast to that line of thinking: “Surely God is good…but as for me, my feet had almost slipped.”

It isn’t God who doesn’t care about man, it is the other way around and it always has been. God is not mysterious, he tells us in his word what his demands are–perfection. We do not measure God by our standards, he is the rule by which his creation is measured. Against that measure, we fall short again and again and have no hope of ever living up to his standards.

Yet, notice how Psalm 73 says, “my feet had almost slipped.” According to the law, we should have plunged to the depths! What happened?

Verse 23: “Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. “

We would have slipped, but Christ through his passion and sacrifice, took hold of us. God’s own son lived up to God’s standards and paid the price for our unfaithfulness. God is not fair, because “fair” would have been to commend Jesus for a job well done and to have punished all of us for eternity. Instead, God’s love took hold of us and pulled us up to be with him in glory.

Prayer: Thou on my head in early youth didst smile, and though rebellious and perverse meanwhile, thou hast not left me, oft as I left Thee. On to the close, O Lord, abide with me. Amen.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

