Daily Devotion on Mark 1:29-39

Text: Mark 1:29-39

All morning, two little eyes have been peering out the front window. “Don’t worry, dear” Mom says, “Grandma will be here soon.” Two little feet pace back and forth, “Where is she?” Then, as the car pulls into the driveway, the child bursts into the front yard and into her grandmother’s arms before she can even get out of her car.

“What did you bring me, Grandma?”

For the Jews in Jesus’ day, it was essentially the same as the scenario above. For centuries, the people of God waited. Their eyes looked to the heavens for the long-promised Messiah. Their feet strayed from the narrow path while they searched for other gods to bide their time.

When Christ finally arrived, he was met not by open hearts, but with outstretched hands.

It is easy for us to look down at those misguided followers of Jesus–“How different it would have been if I were there!” But, is it any different with us today? Do we find ourselves saying, “Your will be done,” and really meaning, “…as long as it suits me as well?” Are we any better than that little child–excited that Christ comes to us in Word and Sacraments, but only if we’re getting stuff in addition?

Praise be to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ who came for this reason: to win salvation for the entire world. This same Christ gave up the innumerable glories of Heaven to live in our earthly poverty. When tempted, he said β€œFather, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” He died, that we might live.

Now, as when Jesus lived among his people, he gives many blessings to his church, but each of those blessings are but a shadow of the greatest gift–salvation.

Prayer: Dearest Jesus, forgive all of my impatience as I wait for the blessings which you have promised for me. Keep my eyes focused on your truth and keep my feet from straying of the path you have ordained for me. Open my heart and forgive me for my outstretched hands. You have given me so much, grant me also contentment. Amen.

About Michael Schottey

Michael Schottey is a Christian, husband, father of two boys, sportswriter, and aspiring author. He graduated from Martin Luther College with a degree in Biblical Languages in 2009. A lifelong midwesterner, he moved to Florida with his family in 2010 and is a member of Christ the King Lutheran Church (WELS).

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

