Daily Devotion on Mark 1:14-20

Text: Mark 1:14-20

If only I could be a fly on the wall during Jesus’ ministry. Next week the focus is on a Jesus who taught with a special kind of authority. Those who heard him knew right off the bat that this man was different. What was it like when Jesus proclaimed the good news of God?

Evidently it was good enough to inspire people to drop everything to follow him. If I came to you at your place of work and told you to leave your job, your family, your friends and all that you know to come follow me you would probably look at me as if I were crazy.

There was something about this Jesus that made people want to know more. There was something about this Jesus that was different. Something about this Jesus caused four men drop what they were doing, leave everything they knew and follow Jesus without delay.

It was his love that separated him from ever other human around. Jesus is the only person who was able to love perfectly and people saw that in him. We see it in him too. We see it in the way he treated the sinful people that surrounded him. We see it in the way he talked. We see it in the way he lived. We see it in the way he died. We see it in the words he left for his followers after he rose from the dead.

Jesus’ love made people want to know more about him. Jesus’ love fills us with that same desire. Jesus lived and died for you. Now he looks you in the eye and says, “Come follow me.” Jesus’ love for us earned us eternity in heaven. Jesus’ love for us will never fail. There is something about this Jesus that changes us. There is something about this Jesus that opens our eyes to what is most important. Jesus’ love makes us willing to follow him anywhere.

Prayer: Jesus, Jesus, only Jesus can my heartfelt longing still. Lo, I pledge myself to Jesus, what he will alone to will. For my heart, which he hath filled, ever cries, “Lord, as thou wilt.” One there is for whom I’m living, whom I love most tenderly; unto Jesus I am giving what in love he gave to me. Jesus’ blood hides all my guilt – Lord, oh, lead me as thou wilt. Amen.

About vicarhoff

I am thrilled and honored to be serving as vicar/intern at Christ the King Lutheran Church and School for a whole year!

Posted on January 21, 2012, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

