Read Your Bible in 90 Days!

I challenge you!

Those words feel familiar.

That’s because they are! On November 1, 2011 I issued a challenge:  Read the Bible in 60 Days. I challenged first myself, then my staff and our church members, then anyone who wanted to join in the fun.

That challenge ended on December 30, 2011. As I understand, there were a handful of participants and a few that actually did finish the challenge. I completed the challenge too. It took 60 hours and 13 minutes, but I did it!

Now I’m issuing a challenge again. This time it’s a 90 Day Bible Challenge. You may not have been ready with the holiday season on January 1st, so I’ll start the challenge officially on Sunday, January 8, 2012. See if you can read the whole Bible in 90 days, by Easter Sunday, April 8, 2012.

My estimation is that it would take about 40 minutes per day of Bible reading to finish. If you think about it, that’s only 20 minutes in the morning and in the evening . . . or 10 minutes four times a day . . . or 40 minutes during part of the lunch hour. You get the idea. It’s not really that much.

But oh how it is worth it! I speak from experience. The 60 Day Bible Challenge was awesome. It developed great habits for me of reading my Bible more than ever before. It was a great high-speed review of the familiar stories and a great refresher of the less familiar stories.

It will take commitment and some time, but you can do it! And I promise, you will grow in faith more than you could ever imagine!

So do it! Read your Bible! And why not try doing so in just 90 days!

The challenge starts Sunday the 8th. I would love to hear if you plan on joining in! Feel free to respond below and share your Bible reading plans.

If you would like a schedule as a rough guide for how much you should be reading each day, please click here

About Pastor Phil Huebner

Pastor. Missionary. Principal. Husband. Father. Serving in love as each. http://www.ctkpalmcoast.com

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Church, Preschool and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Started this today (a day early!) on Dave Schmidt’s recommendation. Love the flow of Matthew that I had never paid attention to before. Big chunk of narrative, big chunk of Jesus’ teaching, big chunk of narrative, big chunk of teaching, etc.

    Thanks for putting this together, Phil. My devotions had gotten too sloooooow, almost exegetical, to the point that doing them was burdensome rather than a joy. Picking up the pace really helps, and at least gets us a forrest-view, if not a tree-view of the word!

    • Tim, that’s great. I’m glad the challenge has spurred you on! I have found the same thing–real blessings in reading quickly through books to get feel for the flow and the “story” more than the specifics of every word like I’m back at Seminary.

      Keep up the great work reading. Trust me, the feeling of accomplishing something like this challenge is amazing–and the blessings even greater!

  2. Steve Waldschmidt

    Michella and I are in. It took us an hour and a half to get through Matthew 1-14 because we stopped so often to talk about it. I’m excited to see how much this 90 day challenge will strengthen our relationship with our Savior and with eachother.

Leave a Reply

