Resolutions for 2012 . . .

Everyone else is doing it.

I really can’t stand it when people say that. I also really can’t stand to be doing “what everyone else is doing” just because that’s what people do so I should too. But . . .

It is that time of year when people reflect a lot. They look back. They look forward. They get excited by the chance for a “new, fresh start.” I find it a little funny because what’s the difference with tomorrow from any other day? It’s just another day. It only happens to have a different year identifier.

Yet I’ll admit it. I like to do “what everyone else is doing.” At least with New Year’s. So as I have pondered 2011 and my life to date, I’m preparing for 2012 and my life to come. And as 2012 begins tomorrow, I’ve made a few resolutions, too. Actually, I’ve made a lot of resolutions! Like these:

  1. I’m going to be a better husband. My wife is pretty special. Not only is she a wonderful wife, but she is an amazing teacher and coworker.
  2. I’m going to be a better father. Like most parents, I love my kids to pieces. But I can keep my cool more. I can parent more carefully. As a workaholic, I could probably spend more time with them. They are growing up so fast!
  3. I’m going to be a better pastor. This is one area where I thank God regularly for forgiveness. So often I realize how greatly I fall short of what I should or could be doing. I want to serve better. I want to preach better. I want to teach better. The whole pastor-package . . . I want to do a better job of it.
  4. I want to read the Bible more. I’m off to a great start with the 60 Day Bible Challenge I just completed–reading the whole Bible in only 60 days. But I want to continue to fervently and frequently read the holy Scriptures, not just 60 days at a time.
  5. I want to get back in shape. The once athletic body is not too far away from becoming an arthritic body. It’s time to get back to at least a shadow of the athlete I once was, and perhaps lose a few pounds along the way.
  6. I want to sin less. Enough said.

I could probably go on and on with more resolutions and more details about each. But I won’t right now. You get the picture though. Like  most people, there are a lot of things I want to change and do better in 2012.

As I review my list, I’m reminded of a Bible passage. Romans 13:10:  Love is the fulfillment of the law.” In this verse we are reminded that if we want to obey our God and do what he commands, it’s going to involve love. If we want to have him as our one and only God, we will do so by loving him most. If we want to remember the Sabbath Day, we will do so by loving God the most. If we want to keep away from murder, adultery, stealing, gossip, lies, and a host of other sins, it will involve love for our neighbor.

Love truly is the fulfillment of what God wants us to do. He wants us to love him most and best. He wants us to love others as we would love ourselves.

I suppose the same could be said of my many resolutions, and yours too. All of our resolutions have something to do with either God, others, or ourselves. And they all boil down to how much we love God, love others, and love ourselves (like loving ourselves enough to quit something or get in shape).

So what is my resolution for 2012? I guess it’s actually pretty simple.

I want to show love more–much more!

About Pastor Phil Huebner

Pastor. Missionary. Principal. Husband. Father. Serving in love as each. http://www.ctkpalmcoast.com

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Church, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Heather Febres

    My New Year’s Resolution is to TRUST GOD! I am always worrying about everything. I need to remember God’s promise that he will always be with me. He hasn’t promised me an easy life, but he has promised that He will be there to help me.

  2. Heather, what a great resolution! We feeble humans never do seem to trust in God enough!

Leave a Reply

