Daily Devotion on Psalm 89

Devotion Text: Psalm 89

You said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one,
I have sworn to David my servant,
I will establish your line forever
and make your throne firm through all generations.’”

Throughout time, the writer of Psalm 89 (Ethan the Ezrahite) echos the Christmas promise. This covenant was first spoken to Eve in the garden of Eden, then to Abraham, Issac and Jacob. Judah would receive the Messianic promise from his father. David and the other psalmists wrote about this promise numerous times. Eventually, that promise would come to a Hebrew maiden named Elizabeth and to her cousin Mary.

The Old Testament church knew a lot about covenants. After the Israelites left Egypt, they stood at the foot of Mount Sinai, trembling in fear as God made a covenant with them–follow everything I command, and I will bless you.

Yet, the Israelites could not keep everything God had commanded them. They followed idols and chased after worldly security and the perversions of the people around them. In response to their sin, God handed them over to their enemies–the Midianites, the Edomites, the Babylonians and Persians, and the Assyrians. Because of their sin, the Israelites did not receive the full measure of God’s blessing, but tasted pain and death.

This is not the covenant of Psalm 89. The covenant here is a “new” covenant–old as the garden of Eden, but just as fresh and relevant today. This covenant is not two-sided, but one-sided. In this promise, God says, “no matter what you do, I have loved you and will continue to bless you. This covenant is the promise fulfilled in the Christ-child at Christmas and at the cross and the empty tomb. This covenant makes us co-heirs of all of God’s blessings to his people. So in response to this covenant:

I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever;
with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.
I will declare that your love stands firm forever,
that you established your faithfulness in heaven itself.

and

Praise be to the LORD forever!
Amen and Amen.

Prayer: Lord, thank you so much for all of the promises you keep day after day. You protect me and you bless me–giving me more than I could ever earn. Most of all, you have given me salvation in Christ. I can never thank you enough for that gift, but let me live a life of thanks to you and declare your love to all those around me. Amen.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

