Daily Devotion on Psalm 14

Devotion Text: Psalm 14

When God looks at you, what does he see?

David writes in this psalm that God does not rejoice when he looks down from heaven. Instead, he sees what we see every day. The world is corrupt and filled with evildoers. The world does not seek God, but wickedness.

That’s you, that’s me.

We can’t read this psalm without looking in the mirror. A footnote to verse one says the word “fool” in Hebrew means more than we think about in English. In Hebrew, the word means one who is morally deficient and I can’t think of any time I haven’t been deficient in what God wants my morality to be.

So when David writes “The fool says in his heart, ‘there is no God,'” he’s talking about you and me. Our heads know there is a God and our lips praise him from time to time, but every time we sin our heart cries out, “I am God and only I matter!” We reject God’s law and we set our desires and impulses up as gods within our own little worlds.

The message does not end there in Psalm 14, nor in the rest of Scripture. The Holy Spirit declares through David that, “God is present, in the company of the righteous.” When we look around, we don’t see any righteous people! Who is he talking about?

The psalm ends, “Oh, that salvation for Israel would come out of Zion!”

It did!

The longing that David and the believers of the Old Testement-era felt for a coming savior, we know as a historical fact. Jesus came out of the heavenly Zion to be salvation for all of God’s people. He took our sin and replaced it with his righteousness in the eyes of God. Through faith, God does not look on our wickedness, but sees only his beloved children.

More than that, Jesus is coming again to bring us out of this world and into the eternal joys of heaven.

Come quickly Lord Jesus!

Prayer: Almighty God, I know my sin. When you look down on your children, you should be disappointed in me. I deserve your wrath and your punishment. Instead, I receive only your love. You sent your son to take my place and continually shower me with blessings that I could never have earned. For this I will praise you as long as I live! Empower me to live a life of thanks to you until you take me to be with you forever. Amen.

About Michael Schottey

Michael Schottey is a Christian, husband, father of two boys, sportswriter, and aspiring author. He graduated from Martin Luther College with a degree in Biblical Languages in 2009. A lifelong midwesterner, he moved to Florida with his family in 2010 and is a member of Christ the King Lutheran Church (WELS).

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

