Daily Devotion on Psalm 90

Text: Psalm 90

Sometimes I find myself joking about my own death. I often tell my wife that I don’t want to live more than 70-75 years. You know, long enough so the kids are raised but not too long. She doesn’t always think it is as funny as I do. The truth is, I love my wife and I love many other aspects of my life, but I know what is coming when I die and I simply would like to have it sooner rather than later.

How in the world can I be so bold? Moses said in Psalm 90, “You have set our iniquities before you, our secret sins in the light of your presence.” I shudder to think of what it would be like to stand before the almighty and all powerful God and have my unrighteousness exposed in the light of his righteousness.

With Moses I can’t help but wonder, “Who knows the power of your anger? For your wrath is as great as the fear that is due you.” In light of my failings, I with Moses can’t help but cry out, “Relent, O LORD! Have compassion on your servants.”

How in the world can I be so bold? When death comes I must stand in God’s presence and face the wrath that is due for sin like mine.

I, like you, however, have a trump card in my hand. This card has the picture of nails, a cross and an empty tomb engraved on it. This card says “Free!” on top. This card is my ticket to eternal paradise after death. This card comes from Jesus. Only through him can we stand before God with any kind of boldness.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, you are the all-powerful God who spoke and the world was formed. Give us peace to face death and our final judgment. Thank you for giving your son to win us eternity in heaven. “May the favor of the Lord our God rest upon us.” Amen.

About vicarhoff

I am thrilled and honored to be serving as vicar/intern at Christ the King Lutheran Church and School for a whole year!

Posted on November 4, 2011, in Church, Daily Devotions, Preschool and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. valerie Holzhueter

    i am curious,… why the strange youtube video?

  2. I’m not sure what youtube video you are talking about? I don’t see any videos on this post.

Leave a Reply

