How Great Thou Art

For over 100 years, one of the most popular Christian hymns in churches around the globe has been How Great Thou Art. This hymn was written in 1885 by a Swedish pastor named Carl G. Boberg when he was 26. The story goes that upon return from a visit he made he was caught up in a severe storm which was followed by a bright and shining sun. The sweet singing of the birds in the trees followed this storm as well. As the story goes, this experience led Pastor Boberg to fall to his knees in humble adoration and then pen the text to this hymn. Over the years it was translated into several languages until Pastor Stuart W. K. Hine translated it into English in the 1930s. The tune of the hymn is traced back to a Swedish folk tune from the 1890s.

Many Christians love this hymn for many reasons. It calls to mind the greatness and grandeur of our God. It calls to mind his love and grace in sending his Son Jesus to carry all our sins on the cross. It calls to mind the power of our victorious King who will return again and take us to our heavenly home.

Recently this hymn was performed by Carrie Underwood and Vince Gill at a special country music event. It was performed with tremendous passion and incredible skill. The music and singing certainly served their purpose–highlighting the text of the hymn.

Below is a video of the performance and the text of the hymn is below that. May the song remind us all of how great our loving and compassionate God truly is–a God who forgives and saves even sinners like us!

Refrain:

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee, How great Thou art!

Stanza 1:

O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder

Consider all The works Thy Hand hath made,

I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,

Thy pow’r throughout the universe displayed;

Stanza 2:

And when I think that God, his Son not sparing,

Sent him to die, I scarce can take it in,

That on the cross my burden gladly bearing

He bled and died to take away my sin.

Stanza 3:

When Christ shall come, with shouts of acclamation,

And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart!

Then I shall bow in humble adoration

And there proclaim, “My God, how great Thou art!”

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Church, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

